Introducing Our New Intern Take Two: Sylvia Castillo

Okay, let’s try this one more time. Hello Mission folks!

We know this might be a bit confusing, but we would like to introduce a new intern, again. Andrea was an amazing addition to MiCoCo and she did an excellent job in her short time with us. Though she loves working with the Mission community, UC Hastings plucked her away, making her a tough-to-refuse offer working full time with the Consortium on Law, Science and Health Policy  We wish her all the luck in the world in her professional endeavors!

In the meant time, I can now introduce myself and share my story. I am Sylvia Castillo, the new MiCoCo Intern, and I am ecstatic to pick up the baton.

I am a first year graduate student at the University of San Francisco.  After earning my undergraduate degree in History and Latin American Studies in 2006 from UCLA, I worked several years in the legal sector. I spent much of my free time volunteering with several youth focused grassroots organizations in Los Angeles, including the Chicano Latino Youth Leadership Project (CLYLP), Nuestras Raices Cultural Arts Center and Adelante Mujer Latina.

In June 2010, I left my job and headed to Sacramento after the CLYLP selected me to coordinate their Comcast Fellowship Program for the summer and mentor six Latino college students to navigate the world of politics inside the State Capitol. It was a wonderful experience that further fueled my passion to pursue a career in the public sector, community building or somehow furthering social justice. I applied on a whim to USF’s new Master of Public Affairs Program and now here I am immersing myself in San Francisco’s community and culture. Having been born and partially raised in East Los Angeles, I was naturally drawn to the Mission District as it is where I feel the most at home.

Within the first month of my graduate studies, I began interning at the San Francisco Mayor’s office and continued through the transition with Mayor Ed Lee.  I was lucky to intern through such a historic time in San Francisco politics and I am excited to experience the grassroots side of San Francisco. There is no better place to participate in community building than the Mission neighborhood and with MiCoCo!

I look forward to working with each of you as we continue to foster a collaborative approach to improving the Mission neighborhood.

This entry was posted in MiCoCo News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Introducing Our New Intern Take Two: Sylvia Castillo

  1. afrey55 says:

    Great job Sylvia!

  2. Emily Claassen says:

    Welcome Sylvia!

Leave a Reply

